Newbuy questions

Hi,
I apologize for the probably stupid questions, but I am new to Linux file system/encryption…

I develop public kiosk applications running on RPi4, and would like to secure it against copying / hacking the license, tampering the OS/software, etc. thanks to this awesome product.

• does file encryption work with Raspian set as read-only most of the time (overlayFS), except when I have to update the internal kiosk app (e.g running a RW command via ssh) ?

• with the encrypted file system, if the internal kiosk app needs to copy some (non encrypted) files from an external USB stick, for example an app update, will they be automatically copied encrypted to the internal SD ?

• with the encrypted file system, if the internal kiosk app copies some files (e.g. text log files) from the SD to an external USB stick, will they be copied decrypted ?

Thank you very much for the clarifications.

@venetasoft - The rootfs partition encryption provided by the Zymkey is based on LUKS, which provides data at rest encryption, i.e. protects data while locked, or offline. Meaning, if someone steals you SDcard, they will not be able to access your data.

While online (rootfs partition unlocked) the data will appear as a normal file system. You are free to see the files and copy non-encrypted files as your RW permissions allow in and out of the partition.

Hope that helps,

@Bob_of_Zymbit

Hello @Bob_of_Zymbit,
thank you for the support!

I will study a little bit how LUKS works, but basically, we have 3 requirements:

1. With the encrypted file system, if someone extracts the SD card from the RPi, and inserts it on a Linux PC, he should not be able to open any file (for example to reverse engineer our binaries, to bypass the license). Is it correct ?